Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

Image

In my early childhood years, on my birthday, mother would take me to a photo studio to have a photograph as a way of celebration, so there I was, in this picture, standing awkwardly in front a backdrop depicting a country road, smiling sweetly to the camera. The backdrop might have been a colored one, however mother must have been watching her budget, for colored photograph would cost a lot more than black/white ones…

Going to a photo studio to have picture taken was a significant event in my younger years. Camera was not a household commodity in China until late 1980’s. Mother always dressed me up as much as she could for the occasion, I’d be excited about it way ahead of it, then i’d be anxious for a few days till mother fetched the prints from the studio. I haven’t developed to be camera shy yet, at least not as bad as i am now.

I often wondered how much life has changed over the years, most photo studios are out of business by now, even kodak had to do something about their film business. Camera is no longer a luxury for Chinese families. On the contrary, we have developed this unstoppable tendency of taking photos, food, place, friends, or self portraits, you name it… some travelled afar to search for breathtaking scenic shots while some wandered around the city for a suitable background…  

No more scenic backdrop required for photos, but I do miss those days for its simple yet ceremoniously ways. Moreover, I miss the little girl who smiled so sweetly to the camera, alas, that smile has long gone!

 

  

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgic

  1. My mother used to dress up the whole family for studio portraits every 3 years or so. It was such an event – choosing the outfits, keeping my shoes and socks clean long enough to take the photos (I wasn’t always successful). I used to grumble to myself as i didn’t like having my photo taken, but my mother’s joy in getting these shots done over-ruled everything. I am grateful for these photos now.

Leave a Reply

